Bookworm Recap: December 2016

*Bookworm Recap is an update that’ll be posting about what I’ve been reading, what books I’ve purchased, and any other news in my world.

So Fall has been slow reading time for me this year; between lots of schoolwork and having to sew a ton to keep up with holiday business, I just haven’t had the time. Thankfully December was less hectic than the previous few months, and Christmas break in particular has given me a bit of peaceful reading time.

 

books-i-read

Sandman: Endless Nights and Sandman: The Dream Hunters by Neil Gaiman
The Sandman: Endless NightsThe Sandman: Dream Hunters

 

3 StarsNeil Gaiman’s Sandman series tells the epic story of Morpheus, also known as Dream, and his encounters with the world. These two volumes are side stories from the Sandman universe, published after Volume 10, The Wake. Endless Nights features seven short stories, one focussing each of the Endless, and Dream Hunters is an adaptation of a Japanese folktale. I really liked the stories in Endless Nights that featured Dream and Delirium. Both volumes were enjoyable, but mostly unrelated to the other stories in the series and kind of unnecessary.

Indian Horse by Richard Wagamese

Indian Horse by Richard Wagamese

4 Stars

This year I took a Contemporary Native Voices class as my English credit at school, and this was one of the books we had to read. Indian Horse tells the story of Saul Indian Horse, a young Indigenous boy in rural Ontario, who is taken to a residential school during the 1960’s. From there, he uses hockey as his escape, and struggles to cope with being an Indigenous person in a white society. This book started out slow, but ended up being really good. It was a heartbreakingly honest look into the life that children endured at residential schools, and the lasting effects on both their lives and Canadian culture. The writing was beautiful, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in learning more about the residential school system in Canada.

Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear

Maisie Dobbs by Jacqueline Winspear

3-5-1

Set in the 1920’s, Maisie Dobbs is a private investigator who’s first major case proves to have more secrets than she anticipated. The extended flashback initially threw me off, but I ended up liking it. The mystery was just okay, but I liked the characters and writing, so I have hope for the rest of the series.

Speed of Life by J.M. Kelly

Speed of Life by J.M. Kelly | The Basic Bookworm
3-5-1

For being a genre I don’t normally enjoy that much, Speed of Life was a nice surprise. I talked about it more in depth in a recent post.

The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan

The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan

5 Stars

Rick Riordan’s books continue to be some of my favourites, no matter how many he writes. Although they follow similar story lines, the different characters and mythologies ensure that they somehow don’t seem repetitive. This is the second book in his Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series, which is based on Norse mythology. Magnus Chase’s character is a lot like Percy Jackson, which I enjoy, but I love the diverse cast of side characters even more. Sam, his kick-ass Muslim Valkyrie friend; Blitz, a style-conscious dwarf; Hearth, a deaf elf; and Alex, the newest gender-fluid addition to Magnus’s hall-mates at Hotel Valhalla all make the quests more entertaining. Overall, just a really fun read!

The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg
The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

3 Stars

In a world where each magician specializes in magic using a specific material, Ceony unwillingly ends being bonded with paper. Shorty after being apprenticed to Magician Thane, she must use her new magic to defeat an evil magician and save Thane’s heart. I had high hopes for The Paper Magician and I ended up being a bit disappointed. It had a really unique concept and the world building was good, but the story dragged during the second half of the book. I really liked Thane as a character, but Ceony was just okay. In the end it wasn’t a bad book, but I’m torn about reading the two sequels.

Dreaming Spies by Laurie R. King

Dreaming Spies by Laurie R. King

4.5 Stars

I purposefully left Dreaming Spies as my last book of 2016, because I knew it would be a good one. This is one of my favourite series, and even my least favourite among them are still pretty good. This one was great, following Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes as they work to solve a mystery involving Japanese Emperor Hirohito, a priceless book, and an blackmail scheme. I just love Mary (really, don’t get me started), she’s everything I look for in a female lead: smart, capable, independent, and interesting. These books are also surprisingly funny, resulting in some strange glances my way as I laughed out loud multiple times. I can’t wait to read the next one, but I’m sad it’s the last one out right now!

Books I Got.jpg

Books I Got | December 2016

I got a few books for Christmas, and I look forward to getting more with the Chapters gift cards that I got!

Inferno by Dan Brown

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

Lock and Key: The Initiation by Ridley Pearson

So, what did you read this month?

Leave a Reply

