2016 End of Year Survey

This is the annual survey hosted over at Perpetual Page-Turner. It was lots of fun to go over everything that I’ve read this year. Overall, it was a bit of a rough year book wise; I didn’t read as many books as last year and I also had less 5 star reads. That said, I still read some pretty great books this year. I’ll try not to be too repetitive with my answers!

2016 Reading Stats

Number Of Books You Read: 85
Number of Re-Reads:
3 (all for school…I don’t usually re-read)
Genre You Read The Most From:
I read a mix of literally everything

Best In Books

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

Middle Grade: The Blackthorn Key by

YA: Mosquitoland By David Arnold

Adult: The Language of Bees by Laurie R. King/Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman

Graphic Novel: Sandman Vol. 9 – The Kindly Ones by Neil Gaiman

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Jackaby by William Ritter. The premise was basically a cross between The Diviners and Sherlock Holmes, so I was super excited, but I called the ending pretty early and was a bit disappointed.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby…I think I expected more of a straight-up mystery with this one, and the magical-realism element kind of threw me off (not in a bad way, but not in a particularly good way either).

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

I pushed Front Lines by Michael Grant to a few of my friends, but I don’t know if any of them actually ended up reading it.

 5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Best series I started – The Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan

Best sequel – The Mary Russell Series by Laurie R. King (it’s a tie between books 8/9/10 – Locked Rooms, The Language of Bees, and God of the Hive)

Best series ender – Sandman by Neil Gaiman

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

M.R. Carey. I loved The Girl With All The Gifts and I can’t wait to read his new books.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

The Devil In The White City by Erik Larson. I’m usually not a big fan of nonfiction but I couldn’t put this one down!

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown

 9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

 Nothing…I’m not a big re-reader.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

 Art In The Blood by Bonnie Macbird

23656887

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

 Melanie from The Girl With All The Gifts by M.R. Carey.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel – something about it reminded me of All The Light We Cannot See (I’m aware that comparing a post-apocalyptic novel to one about WWII seems odd, but trust me on this one).

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown…I’m about 10 years late to the party on this one.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

“I am a collection of oddities, a circus of neurons and electrons: my heart is the ringmaster, my soul is the trapeze artist, and the world is my audience. It sounds strange because it is, and it is, because I am strange.”

David Arnold, Mosquitoland

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

Shortest – Batman: The Killing Joke (50 pages)

Longest – Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell (1014 pages)

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

Moriarty by Anthony Horowitz. The ending made me feel the same way that I felt the first time I watched the Usual Suspects – I wanted to re-read it immediately because it ended with a plot twist that I did NOT see coming!

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes in the Mary Russell Series by Laurie R. King

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

 Magnus Chase and Samirah al-Abbas in The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Anansi boys by Neil Gaiman. I love everything he writes, so I don’t know why I waited so long to read this one. It’s set in the same world as American Gods, but with more of his Good Omens humour.

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

 The Devil In The White City by Erik Larson – read on a recommendation from my mom.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

I don’t do fictional crushes.

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

 A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro. I’m a sucker for anything about Sherlock Holmes.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

 Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine. It’s an alternate history/steampunk/fantasy novel about libraries and books.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

 The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan. His books are always a fun time no matter how old you are.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

I didn’t cry, but The Perks of Being a Wallflower was pretty heart wrenching.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

The Blackthorn Key by Kevin Sands. I loved the historical setting and the mystery, and I can’t believe it has less than 3000 ratings on Goodreads.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

Front Lines by Michael Grant. I find WWII super interesting, so this new take on it with female soldiers definitely made its way to the top of my TBR.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

We Were Liars by e. lockhart. I had high hopes for this one because everyone said it had an ending that you wouldn’t see coming…I definitely didn’t see it coming, but I also hated all the characters and the entire plot line. SO frustrating!

Looking Ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

I’ve really been meaning to read Armada by Ernest Cline and Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudlin.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson. This looks so good!

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

The Ship of The Dead by Rick Riordan. I absolutely loved The Hammer of Thor and I can’t wait to see how this series ends. I’m hoping it will have some bigger appearances by the characters from his other books!

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

I’m excited to get into blogging! I have lots of ideas and can’t wait to try something new. Book-wise, I’m hoping that 2017 is a better reading year than 2016. I’m aiming for 100 books, and I’d love if I found 15 5-star books. I’m also participating in the POPSUGAR reading challenge this year to branch out on my book choices a bit more.

Leave a Reply

